SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding

The SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding technology was developed to overcome today’s big challenges for development, mold design and production in injection molding. This includes trouble-shooting for unforeseen challenges, but also revealing of hidden potential. The difference is SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding’s unique, holistic approach for the simulation of injection molding processes.

The key of the SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding principle is the real 3D simulation of flow, heat flux and warpage for injection molding including the complete mold with all details. Thus SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding delivers sound information as only acceptable basis for accurate and reliable decisions.

Since 1998 SIGMA in Aachen, Germany, is the pioneer and pacemaker of this technology. SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding is development in cooperation with MAGMA in Aachen, who set the standard for 3D metal casting process simulation with MAGMASOFT® at the end of the 1980ies and is today’s worldwide technology and market leader.

SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding supports solutions for complex questions in injection molding ranging from the first design to production:
Developers and designers distinguish possible production problems or critical behavior in the parts long before a real prototype exists. This frontloading shortens development times and minimizes risks.
Tool makers are able to optimally design mold tempering, runner systems, hot or cold runners and ejector packages in the first attempt.
Molders easily find ideal production parameters to realize the desired part quality and productivity.

Thus SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding supports competitive critical factors as quality, productivity and energy and material efficiency with maximum reliability and maximum success: the only tool that takes the complexity of injection molding seriously!

Examples:

Case Studies Plastic
Case Studies Elastomer
Case Studies LSR
Case Studies Thermoset
Case Studies MIM/CIM
Case Studies Multicomponent
Case Studies Integrative Simulation

SIGMA CAD

In the majority of cases CAD data are used in developing new parts. These can be loaded in SIGMASOFT® with our CAD-inteface. Whether you have the complete mold with runner and tempering system or, just the part.

SIGMASOFT® provides the following CAD interfaces:

  • STL
  • STEP
  • Catia V5
  • Creo (Pro/E)

Additional it is possible to export CAD geometries from the SIGMASOFT® Geometry Perspective or distorted geometries from your shrinkage and warpage simulation to your favorite CAD interface.

SIGMA link

Often results of a process simulation are only a step in engineering design chain. For optimizing design of an injection molded article it is crucial to serve the mechanical requirements and limits. Mechanical simulation helps in many cases to find limits in design. Often it is not possible to get local properties, so safety factors have to be used. But SIGMASOFT® calculates anisotropic properties and can help improving design.

SIGMAlink is the tool to export the results of SIGMASOFT® polymer system simulation to be used further in FEM-simulation tools (Finite Element Method). The user is free to export every result calculated in SIGMASOFT® to his preferred format.

Many different FE-meshes can be used with SIGMAlink (click to expand):

  • ABAQUS ABAQUS (Import,*.inp)
  • MSC PATRAN (Neutral File,*.pat)
  • MSC MARC, NASTRAN (through PATRAN)
  • UG (I-DEAS) I-DEAS (Universal File,*.unv)
  • INTES PERMAS (*.dat)
  • ANSYS ANSYS (*.ans,*,cdb)
  • MAGNA STEYR FEMFAT (through I-DEAS,*.unv)
  • ALTAIR Engineering HYPERVIEW (export only,*.h3d)
  • ALTAIR Engineering RADIOSS (*.rad)
  • ESI Group PAMCRASH (* .pc)
  • LSTC LS Dyna
  • STL, CT-data (import only)

SIGMAlink can use FE meshes for data export, but also for geometry import. Using the same FE mesh for both purposes, the user can exclude later discrepancy between the model used for simulation (which is usually a CAD file) and the FE-mesh used for export. Discrepancy can be in geometry, but also in coordinate system.

Following types of results can be exported (click to expand):

  • Scalar values, e.g. temperaturesn
  • Vectors, e.g. velocity, displacement
  • Tensors, e.g. stress, strain, fiber orientation

SIGMA Academy

For our users we offer dedicated trainings with different core topics. Thus we enable them to use SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding to their full advantage.

Learn more

About Us

For 20 years we are the expert on all kinds of injection molding simulation. From part to process we help to optimize plastic, rubber, thermoset and PIM applications. Here you can learn more about the company behind SIGMASOFT®.

About Us

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience Privacy policy

SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding

Die SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding Technologie wurde entwickelt, um die heutigen harten Anforderungen an Entwicklung, Werkzeugbau und Fertigung im Spritzguss zu meistern. Das bedeutet Trouble Shooting bei nicht vorhergesehenen Herausforderungen, aber auch das Heben verborgener Potenziale. Den Unterschied macht SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding‘s einzigartig ganzheitlicher Ansatz für die Simulation von Spritzgießprozessen.

Der Kern des SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding Prinzips ist die echte 3D Simulation von Strömungen, Wärmefluß und Verzug im Spritzguss inklusive des kompletten Werkzeuges mit allen Details. Damit schafft SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding belastbare Informationen als einzig akzeptable Grundlage für viel genauere und zuverlässigere Entscheidungen.

Seit 1998 ist SIGMA in Aachen Pionier und Schrittmacher in dieser Technologie. SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding wird in Kooperation mit MAGMA in Aachen entwickelt, die Ende der 80er Jahre mit MAGMASOFT® den Standard für die 3D Prozesssimulation für Metallguss auf den Markt gebracht hat und heute weltweit Technologie- und Marktführer ist.

SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding unterstützt die Lösung der komplexen Fragestellungen im Spritzguss durchgängig von der Konstruktion bis zur Verarbeitung:
Entwickler und Konstrukteure erkennen eventuelle Fertigungsprobleme oder ein kritisches Verhalten der Spritzgussteile im Betrieb lange bevor physikalische Prototypen existieren. Dieses Frontloading verkürzt Entwicklungszeiten und minimiert Risiken.
Werkzeugbauer legen die Formtemperierung, Anbindung, Heiß- und Kaltkanäle und Auswerfer im ersten Ansatz optimal aus.
Verarbeiter finden schnell die geeigneten Fertigungsparameter um die geforderte Qualität und Produktivität zu realisieren.

Damit unterstützt SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding wettbewerbskritische Größen wie Qualität, Produktivität sowie Energie- und Rohstoffeffizienz mit maximaler Zuverlässigkeit und maximalem Erfolg: Das einzige Werkzeug dass die Komplexität des Spritzgusses ernst nimmt!

Beispiele:
Case Studies Thermoplast
Case Studies Elastomer
Case Studies LSR
Case Studies Duroplast
Case Studies MIM/CIM
Case Studies Multikomponenten
Case Studies Integrative Simulation

SIGMA CAD

Heute liegen in den allermeisten Fällen volumenorientierte CAD-Daten des zu berechnenden Artikels vor. Diese können über unsere CAD-Schnittstelle in SIGMASOFT® importiert werden.
SIGMASOFT® unterstützt derzeit diese wichtigen CAD-Formate:

 

  • STL
  • STEP
  • Catia V5
  • Creo (Pro/E)

Zusätzlich können erstellte CAD-Geometrien aus dem SIGMASOFT® Preprocessor oder verzogene Geometrien aus der Schwindungs- und Verzugsberechnungen über die CAD Schnittstelle exportiert werden, um diese für Ihr gewünschtes CAD-System weiter zu benutzen.

SIGMA LINK

Simulationsergebnisse sind in vielen Fällen nur ein Schritt hin zur Lösung eines Problems oder Entwicklung eines Bauteils. Die Ergebnisse für eine Crashsimulation oder eine Lebensdauerberechnung in FEM-Programmen liefern zusätzliche wichtige Ergebnisse zur Lebensdauer eines Bauteils oder Grenzen einer Designentwicklung. Häufig sind die lokalen Eigenschaften eines Bauteils unbekannt, weshalb auf einen Sicherheitsfaktor zurückgegriffen wird. SIGMASOFT® berechnet anisotrope Eigenschaften und hilft Ihnen Schwachstellen frühzeitig aufzudecken.

SIGMAlink ist ihr Werkzeug zum Export von SIGMASOFT® Füllsimulationsergebnissen und Import von FEM-Volumen- und Schalennetzen um diese im bevorzugten FEM-Simulationswerkzeug zu benutzen.

Viele verschiedene Formate werden von SIGMAlink unterstützt (Mausklick zum Ausklappen):

  • ABAQUSABAQUS (Import,*.inp)
  • MSCPATRAN (Neutrales Format,*.pat)
  • MSC MARC, NASTRAN (über PATRAN)
  • UG (I-DEAS) I-DEAS (Universal File,*.unv)
  • INTES PERMAS (*.dat)
  • ANSYS ANSYS (*.ans,*,cdb)
  • MAGNA STEYR FEMFAT (über I-DEAS,*.unv)
  • ALTAIR EngineeringHYPERVIEW (export only,*.h3d)
  • ALTAIR Engineering RADIOSS (*.rad)
  • ESI GroupPAMCRASH (* .pc)
  • LSTC LS Dyna
  • STL, CT-data (nur importieren)

Jedes in SIGMASOFT® berechnete Ergebnis kann mit der Schnittstelle SIGMAlink auf ein FEM-Netz exportiert werden. Eine mögliche Anwendung ist das weitere Arbeiten mit der berechneten Faserorientierung oder der kompletten Steifigkeitsmatrix. Dabei wird für jedes Element des FEM-Netzes der E-Modul und die Querkontraktionszahl berechnet und exportiert.

Ein FEM-Volumennetz kann mit SIGMAlink nicht nur exportiert, sondern auch zum Importieren von Geometrien für eine Simulation genutzt werden. Dabei können sowohl die Geometrien, als auch die Koordinatensystem problemlos voneinander abweichen.

Folgende Ergebnisse können zum Beispiel exportiert werden (Mausklick zum Ausklappen):

  • Zahlen Werte, z.B. Temperaturen
  • Vektoren, z.B. Geschwindigkeit, Verzug
  • Tensoren, z.B. Spannung, Dehnung, Faserorientierung

SIGMA Academy

Für unsere Benutzer bieten wir mehrere Trainings mit unterschiedlichen Kernthemen an. Somit möchten wir ihnen ermöglichen, das Potential von SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding voll auszuschöpfen.

Mehr erfahren

Über uns

Seit 20 Jahren sind wir Experten für alle Arten von Spritzgusssimulation. Vom Bauteil bis hin zum ganzen Prozess helfen wir bei der Optimierung von Thermoplast-, Elastomer-, Thermoset- und PIM-Anwendungen. Hier können Sie mehr über das Unternehmen hinter SIGMASOFT® erfahren.

Über uns

Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um bestmögliche Funktionalität bieten zu können. Infos zum Datenschutz