SIGMASOFT® Thixo

Technically, the roots of SIGMASOFT® go back to a MAGMA R&D project in the mid-1990s, which was focused on a new coupled heat flow / fluid flow solver for non-Newtonian flow of semi-solid aluminum. Today, after 20 years of ongoing development, the SIGMASOFT® Thixo module allows the prediction of all relevant phenomena occurring at mold filling and solidification of semi-solid processed Aluminum and Magnesium. The covered processes are Rheocasting, Thixocasting, Thixomolding®, Metal Injection Molding etc…

SIGMASOFT Thixo includes the following features (click to expand):

  • Mold filling with cold chamber, hot chamber or injection molding machines
  • Mold filling just under gravity
  • Melt flow from fraction solids of about 0,6 to 100% liquid
  • Melt flow velocities up to 35m/s
  • Shear rate and temperature dependent melt viscosities
  • Total heat flow control of the entire mold and heat balancing
  • Thermal effects of lubricant spraying
  • PI controlled heat nozzles
  • Induction heated tempering devices
  • Detection and optimization of shear rate and viscosity distribution during mold filling
  • Detection and minimization of filling and solidification caused porosity
  • Detection and minimization of cold shut building and movement during mold filling
  • Optimization of cycle timing

Finding the optimal process window

Typically, all semi-solid metal casting processes have critical small process windows. So mold concept and layout of the casting process have to be developed much more accurately than in “normal” metal casting – and preferably hand in hand with the part design. Using a comprehensive process simulation technology covering all aspects of the semi-solid casting process like SIGMASOFT® Thixo is the only access to the answers of success critical questions as:

  • What are the right casting temperature, fraction solid and flow velocity?
  • What are the suitable mold tempering approaches?
  • How do melt viscosities, flow velocities, local fraction solids and local temperatures of the melt develop during filling?
  • How do the local temperatures of the entire mold develop during one cycle – at the beginning of the production cycle and in steady state?
  • What is the shortest possible cycle time?
  • Which are the most critical process parameters influencing part quality, process stability and efficiency?
  • Where is the best position for temperature sensors to control mold tempering?

SIGMASOFT® Thixo combines the metallurgical competence of MAGMASOFT® with the non-Newtonian flow competence of SIGMASOFT® in a comprehensive way. It is an easy-to-use tool to answer those questions by reproducing exactly the same working conditions as in the casting machine and runs several cycles one after other. Electrical heating devices can be simulated exactly as in reality, with all the information about their material, power and control system. In this way, the thermal layout of the mold can be understood and optimized.

SIGMASOFT® Thixo uses an intuitive graphical user interface to guide the user through the setup step by step. An intelligent meshing algorithm generates a 3D mesh for a complete mold within less than 5 minutes. No mesh stitching or triangle moving is necessary, not even for an entire system. The possibility to load in complete mold geometries allows SIGMASOFT® Thixo to truly look into the process.

Outstanding engineering at your service

Success in plastic injection molding simulation calls for direct contact between users and a competent engineering team, with a solid technical background in plastics. Our strong and effective support network, a committed after-sales service and an application-oriented group of developers work closely with you to increase your profit.

Virtual Molding

For a good prediction of what happens on the machine it is important to take into account not only the part, but also the full mold and process. We call this approach SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding.

Learn more

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience Privacy policy

SIGMASOFT® Thixo

Aus technischer Sicht reichen die Wurzeln von SIGMASOFT® zu einem Forschungsprojekt der MAGMA Mitte der 1990er zurück. Dieses Projekt hatte die Entwicklung eines neuen, gekoppelten Strömungs- und thermischen Berechnungsmodells für das nicht newtonische Fließverhalten von teilerstarrten Aluminiumschmelzen als Ziel. Heute, nach 20 Jahren kontinuierlicher Entwicklung, ermöglicht das SIGMASOFT® Thixo Modul die Vorhersage aller relevanten Phänomene, die bei der Formfüllung und Erstarrung teilerstarrter Aluminium- und Magnesiumschmelzen auftreten. Die so abgedeckten Prozesse sind Rheocasting, Thixocasting, Thixomolding®, Metallspritzguss etc….

SIGMASOFT Thixo umfasst die folgenden Funktionen (Klicken zum Ausklappen):

  • Formfüllung mittels Kaltkammer, Heißkammer oder Spritzgussmaschine
  • Formfüllung nur unter Schwerkrafteinfluss
  • Schmelzefluss für Feststoffanteile zwischen 0,6 und 100% Flüssiganteil
  • Fließgeschwindigkeiten bis zu 35m/s
  • Viskositäten in Abhängigkeit von Scherrate und Temperatur
  • Ermittlung der Wärmeströme im kompletten Werkzeug und der Wärmebilanz
  • Thermische Effekte durch das Sprühen von Schmiermitteln
  • PI kontrollierte Heizpatronen
  • Aufheizen durch induktive Temperiersysteme
  • Abbildung und Optimierung von Scherraten- und Viskositätsprofilen während der Kavitätsfüllung
  • Abbildung und Minimierung von Porositäten
  • Abbildung und Vermeidung von Kaltschweißstellen
  • Optimierung der Zykluszeit

Das optimale Prozessfenster finden

Typischerweise haben alle Gießprozesse mit teilerstarrten Schmelzen kritische, enge Prozessfenster. Dadurch müssen das Werkzeugkonzept und der Gießprozess viel genauer geplant werden als im „normalen“ Metallguss – vorzugsweise geschieht dies Hand-in-Hand mit der Bauteilentwicklung. Die Anwendung der umfassenden Prozesssimulation mit SIGMASOFT® Thixo, die alle Aspekte der Formfüll- und Erstarrungsphänomene abdeckt, ist die einzige Möglichkeit Antworten auf erfolgs kritische Fragen zu erhalten:

  • Was sind die richtigen Werte für Gießtemperatur, Feststoffgehalt und Fließgeschwindigkeit?
  • Welche Konzepte für die Werkzeugtemperierung sind angemessen?
  • Wie entwickeln sich Viskositäten, Fließgeschwindigkeiten, lokale Feststoffgehalte und lokale Temperaturen in der Schmelze während des Füllvorgangs?
  • Wie entwickeln sich die Temperaturen innerhalb des Werkzeugs während eines Zyklus – zu Beginn der Produktion und im eingeschwungenen Zustand?
  • Was ist die kürzest mögliche Zykluszeit?

Was sind die kritischsten Prozessparameter mit Einfluss auf Bauteilqualität, Prozessstabilität und Produktivität?
Wo ist die beste Position um die Werkzeugtemperierung mittels Temperatursensoren zu kontrollieren?
SIGMASOFT® Thixo kombiniert die metallurgische Kompetenz von MAGMASOFT® mit der Kompetenz für nicht newtonsches Fließverhalten von SIGMASOFT®. Es ist ein leicht bedienbares Werkzeug um Antworten auf diese Fragen zu erhalten. Dazu werden genau dieselben Bedingungen reproduziert, die an der Maschine vorliegen, und über mehrere Zyklen betrachtet. Elektrische Heizungen können genau wie in der Realität dargestellt werden, mit allen Informationen über Material, Leistung und Steuerungssystem. Auf diese Weise kann der Wärmehaushalt des Werkzeugs verstanden und optimiert werden.

Die intuitive, graphische Oberfläche von SIGMASOFT® Thixo führt Sie Schritt für Schritt durch alle Arbeitspunkte. Intelligente automatische Vernetzungsalgorithmen lassen Sie ein komplettes Werkzeug in weniger als 5 Minuten vernetzen. Keine Netzreparatur, Dreiecksverschiebungen oder Wegnahme von Rundungen oder Fasen sind nötig. Die Möglichkeit das gesamte Werkzeug 1:1 simulativ abzubilden erlaubt es SIGMASOFT® Anwendern einen wahren Blick in das Werkzeug zu werfen.

Hervorragendes Engineering ist unser Service an Sie!

Erfolgreiche Spritzgusssimulation erfordert einen direkten Kontakt zwischen Anwendern und einem kompetenten Ingenieursteam mit technischem Hintergrund. Ein effektives Supportteam, die zuverlässige Kundenbetreuung und anwendungsorientierte Softwareentwickler arbeiten mit Ihnen Hand in Hand für Ihren Erfolg!

Virtual Molding

Für eine gute Vorhersage der Vorgänge in der Maschine ist es wichtig, nicht nur das Bauteil, sondern auch das komplette Werkzeug und den Prozess in Betracht zu ziehen. Wir nennen diesen Ansatz SIGMASOFT® Virtual Molding.

 

Erfahren Sie mehr

Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um bestmögliche Funktionalität bieten zu können. Infos zum Datenschutz